The Board of Directors is made up of 10 to 13 members including a patient advocate, with each of six Founding Partners nominating one board member. In principle, Board members serve for a term of four years. The Board of Directors elects the Chair, the Secretary and the Treasurer among its members. The Board of Directors is then free to appoint up to 5 additional board members that fill skill areas not represented by the board members appointed by the Founding Partners or the patient advocate. The Chairs of the DNDi Scientific Advisory Committee and the GARDP Scientific Advisory Committee as well as the DNDi Executive Director are permanent invitees. Our regional entities are governed by regional Boards of Directors.


Marie-Paule Kieny, Chair
Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (INSERM), France

Suerie MoonSecretary
Harvard University, United States

Frédéric Vallat, Treasurer
Ville de Genève, Switzerland

Noor Hisham Abdullah
Ministry of Health, Malaysia

Balram Bhargava
Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) and Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, India

Jorge Bermudez
Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil

Stewart Cole
Institut Pasteur, France

Paul Herrling

Paul Herrling
Formerly with Novartis International AG, Switzerland

Joanne Liu
Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)

Bernhards Ogutu
Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI), Kenya

Bennett Shapiro
PureTech Ventures, formerly with Merck & Co., USA


Nick White, Permanent Observer
Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit